Links | About | Site Map | Cookie Policy

Certification of Strain Measurement Personnel

The BSSM runs a certification scheme to promote good practice in strain measurement, and to confirm the competence of a strain gauge user by awarding a formal qualification. Courses are appropriate for CPD.

Click here for 2018 prices  Click here for more information. click here for flyer

The scheme operates at three levels consistent with the European Standard EN473:2005, General Principles for Qualification and Certification of NDT Personnel.

Information Registration
Level 1 The basic qualification for Technicians who install strain gauges (similar to NVQ2)

Level 2 The qualification for strain gauge technicians with supervisory roles, who utilise strain gauges to make measurements (similar to NVQ3).

Level 3 Diploma

The qualification for senior strain measurement personnel who specify strain gauge installations and who are responsible for the analysis of measurement data (similar to NVQ4)

Experience with the certification scheme over a period of 30 years has shown that certification:

BSSM certification runs for 5 years. To renew your accreditation please complete and return the relevant form below to:

Amanda Boaler
Society Manager
2 Craven Common

Mobile : 07756 915295

Level 1 Renewal Form
Level 2 Renewal Form
Level 3 Renewal Form

For the dates of the next scheduled exams visit the training courses and exams page

28 Feb 2018
Level 1 Pre-Examination Seminar
14 Mar 2018
Level 1 Examination
9 Apr 2018 to
13 Apr 2018

Workshop on Experimental Mechanics
For full list of all events click here